The Joseph A. Cushman Award for Excellence in Foraminiferal Research

The Joseph A. Cushman Award was established to honor researchers who have made outstanding contributions in the field of foraminiferology.

Nominations are sought from the profession and will be considered at the Board of Director's regular business meetings. More information about nominations and a list of award recipients click on the title above.

Johanna M. Resig Foraminiferal Research Fellowship

The purpose of the fellowship is to recognize and forward the careers of outstanding doctoral candidates committed to the advancement of foraminiferal research. This fellowship is made possible by a gift from the estate of Johanna M. Resig, a lifelong specialist on Foraminifera and former editor of the Journal of Foraminiferal Research. Proposals are judged upon scientific merit and financial need. Deadline for applying is 1 March. For more information click here.

W. Storrs Cole Memorial Research Award

The W. Storrs Cole Memorial Research Award was established to support research in invertebrate micropaleontology. It is given each year to a GSA Member or Fellow between 30 and 65 years of age who has published one or more significant papers on micropaleontology. More information about applying for this award can be found at the Geological Society of America Cole Research Grants web page.

W. Storrs Cole passed away on June 14, 1989, at the age of 86. Dr. Cole had been a Fellow of GSA for 58 years and was one of the Society's leading benefactors. He was a long-time active member of the Cushman Foundation and was awarded the 1983 J. A. Cushman Award. The first presentation of this award was in 1991.

The Buzas Award for Travel to the Cushman Collection

The Buzas Award for Travel was established in 2017 by Dr. Martin A. Buzas, Past Director and President of the Foundation,  and his family to support  researchers on foraminifera to visit the world-famous Cushman Collection of foraminifera at the US Natural History Museum, Smithsonian Institution, in Washington, D.C., USA.  The award is open to graduate students and professional researchers who can demonstrate a need to use the collection and associated facilities.

Marty Buzas, who was a past Director and President of the Cushman Foundation, has been a curator at the Smithsonian since 1963, where he is currently curator emeritus. His research focuses on the quantitative understanding of the distribution of organisms in small and large amounts of space and time. Over his career he has published more than 100 peer-reviewed papers and 15 books, and he is still actively publishing. Among the honors and awards Marty has received are the prestigious Joseph A. Cushman Award for outstanding achievement in foraminiferal research (2004); the Paleontological Society Medal (2004); and the Brady Medal of the Micropalaeontological Society (2015). 

Due to current COVID-19 travel restrictions and closures, recipient selection for the 2020 Buzas Award for Travel (BAT) will be delayed until 2021.

Martin A. Buzas and daughter Pamela Anne Stephens at the ceremony where he received the Brady Medal of the Micropalaeontological Society (2015)

Student Research Awards 

The Cushman Foundation offers several Student Research Awards. Deadline for applying is 1 March. A description of the Awards and details on applying, are available at the links below:

  • Loeblich and Tappan Student Research Award supports undergraduate and graduate student research on any aspect of living or fossil foraminifera or other protists, such as diatoms, coccolithophorids, dinoflagellates, acritarchs, or radiolaria.

Proposals are judged upon scientific merit and financial need.  For more information click on the titles above.

The Joseph A. Cushman Award for Student Travel

This award from the Cushman Foundation for Foraminiferal Research supports current undergraduate, masters’ and doctoral students, and those who have been awarded the Ph.D. no more than one year past the application deadline. The award funds those who wish to present the results of their theses or dissertations at Foundation-approved professional meetings or workshops in either an oral or poster session. It also funds (up to $500) students to attend workshops. The research projects or workshops should address microfossils or the organisms that make them.

Arthur James Boucot Research Grants

The Paleontological Society’s Arthur James Boucot Research Grants support early career paleontologists in the fields of morphology, taxonomy, and biostratigraphy, working on any taxa, preferably with some combination of these approaches and a significant fieldwork component.  Arthur James Boucot Research Grants support original research by current postdoctoral students, assistant professors (pre-tenure), and other early career paleontologists with a PhD, with the possible exception of an occasional individual deemed to be unusually qualified.  Paleontologists must be associated with universities, institutes, and academies of science, or equivalent institutions.  

Applicants must be Paleontological Society members unless there are extenuating circumstances.  Awards are typically less than $5000, but larger awards are possible. Awards are made directly to individuals and not to institutions.  Awards cannot be used for institutional overhead, publication costs, or modeling studies that rely on fossil or modern databases.  Applications are encouraged from the United States and elsewhere in the world, however, the Paleontological Society cannot award grants to applicants from countries with economic or trade sanctions imposed by the U.S. Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC). 

The application can be downloaded as one document from the Paleontological Society’s web site: 

Required reporting information is also included in this document.  Deadline for receipt of applications is Feb. 1. 

CFFR’s privilege and duty is to increase accessibility, equity, and inclusion through our grants, fellowships, and awards, providing continued financial support to our members to participate in foraminiferal-centric meetings and workshops.